itsmattyeaah

Anyone into producing/making music?

2 posts in this topic

I was wondering if anyone who produces music can give me some opinions on how to improve my mix.  I am self-taught and have been playing music for the past 8 years.  I recently started getting into music production over the past couple of years, but I have been on and off with it due to school.  I have been recording as a hobby while on break from school.

I re-edited Interstate from the EP in the post and I want to know if my mix is improving?  I really want to know how to get a solid mix, but without having to get it professionally done.  Like I said, this is just a hobby for myself.  I have no intentions of trying to get things mastered or produced by an actual engineer, but I just want to learn more about the basics of production and how I can get a decent mix on my own.

Interstate (new mix):

http://www115.zippyshare.com/v/oWxr108K/file.html

Most issues aren't in the mix itself, but how each instrument is recorded. How many mics do you use for your drums and where do you position them? Do you use a stereo matched pair of cardioids for the overheads? Do you mic up a guitar amp in an isolation room or through amp modelers in your DAW? What kind of mic do you use to record vocals? Do you record them in a booth, closet, or open room? The better and more tight your tracking process is, the less you have to do once it comes time to mix. So it's hard to critique when you don't know how the sausage gets made, so to speak.